I want to say thanks to the students in Jayne Johnson’s class at Cravens Elementary School for the wonderful thank you letters they sent to me today. It was a nice surprise and really made my day.

I visited the class last month as part of a community reading day and shared a book about George Washington with the students. Afterwards, we talked about the book, about the importance of reading, and I answered some questions about the newspaper.

The questions were great, and it was so nice to see how interested the students were in both the book we were reading and what goes on here at the Messenger-Inquirer.

Thanks to Principal Chris Gaddis and Mrs. Johnson for including us in their program. This was a tremendous event that involved the entire school, and I’m sure it required a great deal of planning and coordination throughout the school. From my perspective, it went off great, and really highlighted why reading is important in any career that these young people might consider. The administrators, teachers and students at Cravens should be proud.

